How much have you spent?

Have you ever wondered how much you have spent on this game?  When I saw this holiday sale by Blizzard I was wishing I could have paid these prices instead of what I had originally paid.

Merry Christmas!

Sale prices:

  • WoW: Battle Chest for $5 (reg. $19.99)
  • Cataclysm for $20 (reg. $39.99)
  • Wrath of the Lich King for $10 (reg. $39.99)
  • Celestial Steed for $10 (reg. $25)
  • Pandaren Monk for $5 (reg. $10)

After seeing this add it had me wonder, how much have I spent on this game?  Well I sat down this afternoon and here is the list of things I have purchased in the last 5 ½ years.

Expansions:

  • World of Warcraft $29.99
  • Burning Crusade $39.99
  • Wrath of the Lich King $39.99
  • Cataclysm $79.99 (collectors edition)
  • WoW: Battle Chest (includes WoW and BC) $39.99 for 2nd account

Miscellaneous in-game stuff:

  • 2 Name Changes ($10 each)  $20
  • 4 Character transfers ($25 each) $100
  • Celestial Steed  $25    (yes, sadly I bought one)
  • 1 Gender/name change  $25
  • Authenticator $6.50
  • Monthly fee $14.99   June ’06 to Dec. ’11  $990
  • Monthly fee $14.99 for 2nd account not sure of the date but I am pretty sure it was for about a year so $190 (which is now my Moms account)

Computer needs:

  • 2 graphic cards approx. cost $350
  • 3 headsets approx $100  (none of which I use any more the mics broke on all 3 so I went back to a desk mic and speakers).
  • 2 gaming mouse $100

Approximate grand total: $2161.00   for 5 1/2 years of game play, as for how many hours total, I will never tell.

Well it’s a hobby, it is what I do in my spare time it is cheap social entertainment.  I use it to stay in touch with my brothers who do not live close to me, its a family affair for us even my mother plays and she is in her 70s.  She is currently playing my 2nd account and has taken over the monthly payments.  Now don’t be afraid to share yours we all know its probably just as bad as mine if not worse.

Neytiri



2 Responses to “How much have you spent?”

  1. As for a rough estimate of what I have spent playing WoW for the enjoyment of playing with friends and the challenge of progression is as follows.

    Expansions:
    World of Warcraft $29.99
    Burning Crusade Collectors $79.99
    Burning Crusade $39.99 (2nd account)
    Wrath of the Lich King $39.99
    Cataclysm Collectors $79.99

    Misc. Game Stuff:
    2 Race changes $25.00 each
    2 Character account transfers $25.00 each
    Authenicator $6.50
    Monthy Fee $14.99 Aug. ’06 – Dec. ’11 $974
    Montly Fee 2nd account $14.99 Feb. ’07 – Dec ’11 $884

    Computer Stuff:
    this doesn’t include 2 custom computer builds, one I had built in 2007 and the one I built myself this year
    in 2007 Logitech G-15 keyboard $70.00
    Logitech G-400 gaming mouse $50.00
    Computer desk, used, $40.00

    in 2011 Logitech G-510 keyboard $90.00
    Steel Series Gaming mouse $70.00
    GameCon Headset $60.00

    rough grand total of $2712.00

    As for hours played will give your that for Foxred, my main toon, alone. Foxred has 307 days, 23 hours, 29 minutes, with 33 days, 13 hours at level 85. Keep in mind I have 3 level 85’s in Fatal, and 2 level 85’s on horde, so in all I’m one of those that is probably worse. I enjoy this game to the point that I play it at work after the noon time hour. I am also responsible for getting 4 of my co-workers playing WoW 🙂

    One other point is this stuff is just my WoW partial expenses and time. My husband also plays WoW.

  2. That’s $1.08 a day. Some people I know spend more than that on
    soda pop.

Leave a Reply

